The Wheel of the Year

About the Jez of It

In honour of changing spiritual seasons in life, witches and pagans celebrate eight annual sabbats. These sabbats mark the eight annual passages of both spiritual and earthly energy. The wheel of the year is comprised of the eight sabbats. Each celebration comes under either greater or lesser sabbats.

The lesser sabbats mark the journey of the sun through the year. Each season begins when the sun enters one of the cardinal astronomical constellations. They are the celebration of solstices and equinoxes. As the earth’s orbit around the sun is nor a perfect 360° circle the dates vary each year. Therefore, the Winter Solstice, Yule, begins when the sun enters Capricorn, the Vernal Equinox, Ostara, when the sun enters Aries, Summer Solstice, Litha, is marked by the sun entering Cancer, and the Autumnal Equinox, Mabon, when the sun enters Libra

The remaining sabbats are the greater sabbats of Samhain, Imbolc, Beltane…

View original post 110 more words

By GrannyMoon Posted in Pagan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s