Home Apothecary Tour

Welcome to my Home Apothecary! So, as I’ve mentioned in the past, I live in a little townhouse in a medium-sized city in California. I have a mostly-shaded patio where I attempt to grow a decent garden, an abundance of candles and a kitchen windowsill lined with plants (which you guys see all the time in my blog photos!)

Home Apothecary Tour | The Witch of Lupine Hollow

Ever since I was a little kid, I was fascinated with apothecaries. I think it probably started when I first saw and fell in love with Practical Magic – Sally’s shop in the movie is an endless source of inspiration. I always had apothecary jars in the bathroom stuffed with cotton balls and the like, but what I really always wanted was an apothecary of my own. Shelves and shelves lined with jars filled with dried herbs, flowers and mysteries.

And I finally have it! Quite by accident, in fact. Ever since we moved into our place, we’ve had one small shelf in the kitchen for teas. I had put most of our favorite tea blends into mason jars with labels, just for fun since they were out and might as well look nice. But my roommate and I got it into our heads about the same time that we wanted to start making our own teas. We found an herb shop in the next town over that we absolutely love and before we knew it, we had more bags of herbs lying around than we knew what to do with.

Home Apothecary Tour | The Witch of Lupine Hollow

So, we stocked up on mason jars and stickers and started filling them. It started as one shelf, then two, and finally we had to dedicate the whole kitchen bookshelf to our jars of herbs. Just like that: I had the home apothecary I’d always wanted.

My Most Commonly Used Herbs

Depending on what your herbalism practice looks like, you might use a completely different set of ingredients. These are the herbs I most commonly run out of though:

  • Rosebuds
  • Lavender
  • Mint
  • Calendula
  • Cinnamon
  • Cloves
  • Elderflower
  • Yarrow
  • Red Clover
  • Marshmallow
  • Dandelion Leaves and Root

Basic Teas to Have on Hand

As tea is the primary function of my apothecary, I always try to have basic tea bases on hand to work with. These include:

  • Green Tea
  • White Peony Tea
  • Darjeeling Tea
  • Earl Grey Tea
  • Green Earl Grey Tea
  • Jasmine Green Tea Pearls

Tea Blends for Easy Brewing

In addition to basic tea bases, pretty much one whole shelf of my apothecary is dedicated to tea blends. Some of these are blends I or my roommate made ourselves and some are storebought blends:

  • New Moon Tea
  • Waxing Moon Tea
  • Full Moon Tea
  • Waning Moon Tea
  • Headache Tea
  • Cold Medicine Tea (also, Hardcore Cold Medicine Tea)
  • Stomachache Tea
  • Cinnamon Orange
  • Midwinter Night’s Dream
  • Garbo’s Peachy Blend
  • Red Chai
  • Brooklyn Serenity
  • Grey’s Kelly
  • Hannah Rose

Fun Extra Herbs for the Apothecary

It’s always nice to have some extra fun things to mix into my tea blends. Currently, these are a few of the fun things on my shelf:

  • Sunflower petals
  • Echinacea
  • Passionflower
  • Damiana
  • Catnip
  • Mugwort
  • Star Anise
  • Rosehips

Other Apothecary Essentials

My apothecary is primarily herbs and flowers, but I do also keep these essentials around for other purposes, besides blending teas:

  • Witch hazel
  • Lavender essential oil
  • Cedarwood essential oil
  • Eucalyptus essential oil
  • Tea tree essential oil
  • Peppermint essential oil
  • Wildflower honey
  • Beeswax

divider

Do you have a home apothecary? What herbs do you always have on hand? This post was inspired by A Peek Inside My Home Apothecary by The Dabblist.

Source: Home Apothecary Tour

One comment on “Home Apothecary Tour

  1. Totally enjoyed this post! Even though I cannot see pictures, I was able to enjoy this post. Why? Because the author’s description allowed me to walk right through that kitchen. Touch those shelves, and enjoy the great scents that most assuredly come from being around so many different magnificent herbs. I could stand on that patio, and enjoy the shaded breeze as I breathed deeply of the many flowers and herbs growing there. Blessid may your garden be.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

