The Secrets of your Zodiac Signs

According to astrology, celestial phenomena relate to human activity on the principle of “as above, so below”, so that the signs are held to represent characteristic modes of expression. Western Astrology follows the sun sign system whereas Vedic astrology follows the Lunar system. The difference is that sun sign shows the outer cover or outer expressions of an individual – it’s masculine. Where in Lunar system follows the inner side, the hidden emotion – how we emote that expression – it is feminine in nature. Both the sun and the moon have been assigned as positive and negative in quality. So when the signs are interpreted as a moon sign, we see a different side to the same Zodiac seen as the sun sign.  It is important to note, however, under the lunar system the moon signs have 27 constellations in every twelve sign. Hence these characteristics are further divided. In the coming posts, these individual signs will be further elaborated.

There are twelve  zodiac signs:

  1. Aries                         21 March –20 April
  2. Taurus                      21 April –21 May
  3. Gemini                     22 May –21 June
  4. Cancer                      22 June –22 July
  5. Leo                             23 July –22 August
  6. Virgo                          23 August –23 September
  7. Libra                          24 September –23 October
  8. Scorpio                     24 October –22 November
  9. Sagittarius              23 November –21 December
  10.  Capricorn               22 December –20 January
  11. Aquarius                  21 January –19 February
  12. Pisces                        20 February –20 March

They are divided in the following ways –


  1. Cardinal’ – Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn
  2. Fixed – Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius
  3. Mutable – Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces


  1. Fire – Aries, Leo, Sagittarius
  2. Earth – Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn
  3. Air – Gemini, Libra, Aquarius
  4. Water – Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

Symbolized as:

Set zodiac sign vector Illustration. Contour icon.

They each represent twelve houses:

  1. 1st House – The Self
  2. 2nd House – Finances/Possessions
  3. 3rd House – Siblings/ Intellect
  4. 4th House – Family/Childhood
  5. 5th House – Children/Creativity
  6. 6th House – Enemies/Job
  7. 7th House – Partnership/ Marriage
  8. 8th House – Sex/rebirth/Transformation
  9. 9th House – Journey/Philosophy
  10. 10th House – Occupation/ Status
  11. 11th House – Society/ Community
  12. 12th House – Subconscious/ Hidden self 

The nine planets in Vedic Astrology:

  1. Sun
  2. Moon
  3. Mercury
  4. Venus
  5. Mars
  6. Jupiter
  7. Saturn
  8. Rahu
  9. Ketu

In Vedic astrology, we also follow the two shadow planets also called mid-points or nodes Known as Rahu and Ketu. They form part of the ‘Navagraha’ or the nine planets They denote the points of intersection of the paths of the Sun and the Moon as they move on the celestial sphere. Western Astrology also follows Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto. They are symbolized as:



On a concluding note, Astrology is the study of the movements and relative positions of celestial objects as a means for divining information about human affairs and terrestrial events. What I follow is Vedic Astrology, predominantly followed by the Hindus.

It is a vast subject that compromises many aspects and follows the Lunar calendar. In Vedic astrology one follows both Lagna and Navamsa, That is the main birth chart and a ninth division chart of every zodiac sign in the Lagna Chart.

The Vedic astrology also consists of 27 Nakshatras/Stars under the Lunar cycle. Also followed is the planetary transits which are known as ‘Gocharas’, The nine planets (Grahas) and the Dasa system which is the planetary periods an individual goes through. It also includes, ‘yogas’ – planetary combinations forming certain specific relations, ‘Bhavas’ or planetary houses, Drishti’s or aspects on certain houses made by planets.

Such a vast subject cannot be learned overnight and requires intense dedication and an efficient teacher to guide us. Traditionally learned by men, women astrologers are rare. I consider myself a student of astrology and began learning it when I was going through one of the worst periods in my life as a way to understand and overcome my difficulties.

Astrology just like Tarot is a means to understand self and for self-growth. I don’t believe in predictions, for I believe one can be guided all they want but unless that individual himself decides to take action, no planetary movements can help him.

I have to confess during my teenage days I hardly believed in all this. My mom is a stern believer but she is an extremely religious person as well. To me, it is a method to understand where one comes from, why they are like they are and how Vedic astrology can help them in their difficult times.

In this blog am only going to post what I have learned from Vedic astrology and it is only meant for educational purposes. As am still learning, and am hoping it could be refreshing for me as well. Wherever possible I will clear any questions but I follow certain unconventional paths since am no astrologer.

Whereas in Tarot certain outcomes can be ‘predicted’ based on the cards drawn, in Astrology studying planetary movements and calculations of degrees in planetary houses etc requires a lot of patience and experience. Yet I firmly believe predictions can only go so far, one’s destiny is as much in one’s hand as it is with the stars.

The main purpose of this blog, am using both these divinatory methods to guide others and how Tarot makes use of Astrology. Together they make a multi-purposeful reading. I hope I can be of service to you. I will be starting with the Zodiac Signs.

Source: The Secrets of your Zodiac Signs


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s