Herbal Cough and Lung Tisane

Herbal Cough and Lung Tisane

herbalcough2

It has been years (over 10 years) since we have been sick around here.   A few weeks ago we came down with a cold and even now, I am still suffering from a bad cough.

I have tried everything to stop this dry hacking cough.  This isn’t the first tea I have tried either, but I have to keep trying until I find something that works.

Of course, when buying my herbs a couple of months ago, I saw wild cherry bark, noted that it was for coughs, and then promptly failed to add it to my shopping car because “we’re never sick”.

After doing a little herbal reconnaissance tonight, I came up with this concoction.  I found as many herbs as I could that had anti-cough properties.  Some are expectorant but I feel I have a tickle in my chest and even though my cough is dry, there must be something causing the tickle.

I chose the following herbs which are known to be effective against coughing and congestion:  Red clover, coltsfoot, mullein, licorice root, hyssop, blue violet, plantain, and sassafras.

herbalcough1

I used about 1/2 tsp of each herb and put it all into a bowl to mix up.

herbalcough2

Then, (since I hate floaties) I put it all into a small tea bag

herbalcough4

And I plopped it into my little teapot and added about 2 and 1/4 cups of boiling water.

herbalcough5

Ten minutes later, I strained the tea and added a 1/2 tsp honey.

I don’t know if it will work or not, but at this point I am getting desperate.  I feel fine, but this cough is killing me.

I realize there is some controversy about ingesting coltsfoot, but I am not doing so regularly, and not in large doses.  Likewise, I do not have high blood pressure or heart disease, so I have no concerns about licorice root.  I have even seen cautions about taking sassafras, but honestly, people have been taking these things for who knows how long.  I choose to just use common sense and use in moderation.

Do you have any herbal remedies to help a dry cough / chest tickle?   If so, please feel free to comment.  I am getting desperate to stop this cough.   Even Vick’s cough drops are not making a dent.

 

Update:  This absolutely obliterated my cough.  I didn’t cough at all last night after having this tisane.  Today I was fine until about 2 PM, then I made some more and haven’t coughed since.    I am convinced that for whatever was ailing me, this did the job!

Source: Herbal Cough and Lung Tisane

By GrannyMoon Posted in Pagan

Leave a Reply

