IN MY WALLET I CARRY A CARD — Jane Hirshfield

 

cassketco

In my wallet I carry a card

which declares I have the power to marry.

In my wallet I carry a card

which declares I may drive.

In my wallet I carry a card

that says to a merchant I may be trusted to pay her.

In my wallet I carry a card

that states I can borrow a book in the town where I live.

In my hand I carry a card.

Its lines declare I am cardless, carless,

stateless, and have no money.

It is buoyant and edgeless.

It names me one of the Order of All Who Will Die.

~ Jane Hirshfield ~

(The Beauty)

By GrannyMoon Posted in Pagan

Leave a Reply

